Hysteria

I am in a state of near-paralytic election-based anxiety these days, unable to stop looking at polls and forecasts and websites with “politi-” somewhere in the name. Through the whims of fortune, I live in one of the few neighborhoods in Manhattan that came through Hurricane Sandy without even a power blink, and I am aware how lucky I am.

But this has left me free to fret over the FiveThirtyEight, to sneer at confirmation bias and then engage in some of my own. If I never post again, it’s because I’ve gone into cardiac arrest, not because I’ve abandoned this blog. I have no idea how I’m going to survive the next 36 hours or so, but I’m sure I’ll find a way.

Until then, there’s this great registry for Hurricane Sandy relief. The good kids of Occupy have formed Occupy Sandy, and they’re doing hands-on work to help people who don’t have homes or clothes. Maybe you can afford a blanket or a mop? It’s going to be like 30 degrees tonight, someone could definitely use it.

Leave a comment

Filed under the world

Leave a Reply

