Stepgeek?

Dear everyone,

Because of a project Raven is working on, we’ve both started to get into self-tracking, which is a really special brand of nerdery. Or geekery? I’m not sure which is more accurate. Since it is more his project than mine, and he’s been super gung-ho about it, I bought him a tool for this that I actually really wanted for myself – a fitbit. (Holla, Green Canary!) Because I am not wealthy, I figured it would be a while before I got one for myself, but as he played with his, it became clear that it was totally awesome.

So I was delighted and surprised when he came home from work one day last week and said “close your eyes and hold out your hands” and presented me with my very own bit of technological awesomeness.

Now, it’s true that it’s just the fanciest pedometer you’ve ever seen, but not much more than that. Well, it also tracks your sleep through some sort of voodoo that I haven’t figured out yet, and it has a pretty sweet web-based interface that offers graphs and charts of your activity and progress – all of that is super appealing to someone who likes concrete visualizations. So, ok, it’s considerably more than just a pedometer.

But possibly my favorite part is that it allows me to indulge in one of my favorite pastimes – anthropomorphizing things that have no right to be anthropomorphized. You see, when I pick it up after a period of not wearing it – which at this point is only after a shower or after changing my clothes – it greets me with a little message. “Hey ho, Kelsi,” it says. Or “Faster, Kelsi,” it says, perhaps trying to be encouraging. Yesterday, though, when I picked it up, it said “Stepgeek, Kelsi.”

Well. Ok then! It hasn’t called me anything yet today, but it’s 7:45 in the morning and all I’ve done so far is sit on the couch. And although I’ve only had it for a few days, the burning guilt of the fact that my step count isn’t increasing while I sit here on the couch is worming its way through my brain. Which means it’s time to get up and head to the gym, and see what the little bit calls me today.

XO,

KW

2 Comments

Filed under little bits

2 responses to “Stepgeek?

  1. Dude. DUDE. Your Fitbit called you a name? HOT DANG! I WANT MY FITBIT TO CALL ME NAMES! So far mine only yells, “YO!” when I pick it up. I occasionally get encouragement to “keep going” or something like that, but I’d prefer being insulted to being encouraged. (Which is why I’m in therapy, and likely always will be.)

  2. Yesterday, it said “I’M READY” when I picked it up, which made me kind of uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

